RSS

09 Nov

Sorry, no new animations.

My puppet broke today.

 

Let us mourn for a minute of silence.

 

 

 

 

 

Okay all done! I’m gonna make a hell of a lot better one now!

I was in the midst of despair when I bumped into my tutor, Magnus, on campus, and after hearing of the tragedy, he wouldn’t let me drift to classic animation but instead directed me to Jonathan, the animation tutor, who in turn gave me a roll of aluminum wire! Now you all know how hard I was looking for aluminum wire some time ago, until I gave up and setteled for copper. BIG mistake. Copper breaks, as it appears. Aluminum is awesome! It’s so soft and flexible and light. Mmmmm aluminum…

Anyway, this means, no excuses! I’ll make a new puppet and get on with the plan. So first thing I did was research some more on stop motion. Jonathan told me where I could get this wire (and a huge selection of other animation materials, including tricells and cell paints!)ff

http://www.chromacolour.co.uk

Next I’ve found a great site and forum for stop motion enthusiasts, including one guy who’s making a game like me. Yeepee!!! this one is        http://www.stopmotionanimation.com
Also, if anyone is interested in trying out stop motion with puppets, this site sells a durable armature kit, at only 20 pounds. It’s the cheapest I’ve seen anywhere and it includes aluminum wire and trust me… it will save you a lot of pain. Ah if only I’ve known of this before….   http://www.animationtoolkit.com/index.htm

Also a really cool site that sells scenery-sets making materials. I’d usually rather make those stuff myself, and regardless my whole game will only be made in yarn (including UI and special sparkly effects!), so it’s no good for me. But still fun to look at.      http://www.ecscenics.co.uk/index1.html

Also a few things I’ve learned…. how to make a T-tiedown (instead of magnets). To use plaster to make different heights. How to “plant” fake grass (there’s a tool for that in ecsenics website). How to make water..

Also discovered a really cool animator and prop maker, Nick Hillisgosnic. Well it’s not like he’s new or anything, he’s a 62 year old veteran, but he’s Australian! http://www.youtube.com/user/StopmoNick


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2009 in Game, Journal, Stop Motion

 

Leave a Reply

 
